Washington State University Tri-Cities

Office of Student Involvement

Volunteer Opportunities

Volunteer Directory

Agency Contact & Email Phone # Description Requirements

American Red Cross

Melinda Dial
melinda.dial@redcross.org

509-943-7812

Assisting with blood drives, volunteer coordination and outreach, general administrative duties (some can be done at home).

Background check

Autism Resource Center

Christine Lindgren
info@respondingtoautism.net

509-396-9230

Assisting autistic children

Benton-Franklin CASA/GAL Program

Tikva Glantz
tikva.glantz@co.benton.wa.us

509-222-2302

Advocates for abused and neglected children

Training and must be over the age of 21

Benton-Franklin Department of Human Services

Gail Brown
Gail.Brown@co.benton.wa.us

509-783-5284 ext 3976

Assisting with events such as the homeless fair

Benton-Franklin Youth Suicide Prevention

Kristi Haynes
Kristi@yspp.org

509-528-1108

Representing YSPP at health fairs and distributing suicide prevention materials on WSU campus.

Children’s Reading Foundation

Amy Ward
award@readingfoundation.org
Lori Aronson
laronson@readingfoundation.org

509-222-7323

Tutoring 1st–3rd graders in reading

Domestic Violence Services

Erinn Gailey
erinn.g@dvsbf.org

509-735-1295

Advocacy at shelter or in court. Community outreach available without training.

Training and Background Check

Edith Bishel Center for the Blind

Cynthia McCready
cynthia@edithbishelcenter.org

509-735-0699

Assist with fundraisers, activities and committees

Application

Grace Clinic

Cindie Preszler
cpreszler@gracecliniconline.org

509-735-2300

Assist with different tasks throughout the clinic

Application

Habitat for Humanity

Crystal Carter
ccarter@habitat-tcp.org

509-943-5555 ext. 207

Assist with events such as Impact Day

Application

Homeless Connect

Gail Brown
Gail.Brown@co.benton.wa.us

509-783-5284 ext. 3976

Assist with events such as Point in Time Count

Humane Society

Mary Anne Smith-Fewell
bfhsvolunteer@gmail.com

509-374-4235

Care for adoptable pets

Application, Age 14+

Ignite Youth Mentoring

Ashlee Ballinger
info@igniteyouthmentoring.com

509-948-3143

Mentoring

Application, Age 18+

Kennewick General Hospital

Brenda Draper
Brenda.Draper@kphd.org

509-586-5117

Escort and information desks.

Application and Background Check

Project Literacy RSC-AmeriCorps

Diane Hart
pl@rsca.us

509-547-6607

Reading with 1st–5th graders

Background Check, Orientation and References

Responding to Autism Center

Christine Lindgren
info@respondingtoautism.net

509-396-9230

Assisting children with different activities

The Chaplaincy and Hospice

Karin Pierce
karinp@tricitieschaplaincy.org

509-783-7416 ext. 2029

Hospice program, chaplain services, and grief support

Interview

Therapeutic Innovation & Recovery

Steve Gaulke
tirecovery@gmail.com

509-713-5942

General support, clerical duties

Training, Orientation

Tri-Cities Soccer Association

Stephanie Koerner
president@t-cysa.org

509-544-0276

Coaching or refereeing

Background Check

United Way of Benton and Franklin County

Jo Breneman
jbreneman@unitedway-bfco.com

509-783-4102

General office tasks

YMCA of the Greater Tri-Cities

Megan Weimar
megan@ymcatricities.org

509-374-1908 ext. 108

Assist with events, volunteer coaches

 

Girls on the Run

Misty Fewel
misty.fewel@girlsontherun.org

509-713-7014

Leading girls in lessons and games involving running while elevating mental, social, physical, and emotional health

Interest in girl empowerment; Woman 21 years old minimum (head coach); woman 18 years old minimum (assistant); 1 day of training; First Aid/CPR certification

SARC

Renee Blackman
rblackman@myfrontiermail.com

509-374-5391

On-call crisis advocate and on-call hospital advocate

Background check, age 18+

Junior Achievement

Susan Fillafer
susan@jainfo.org

509-222-6472

Assisting with annual bowling classic and various special projects.

Tri-Cities Pregnancy Network

Avonte Jackson
Info@TCPNetwork.org

509-491-1101

We use volunteers in a large variety of roles; including on-going, in-center volunteers and project-focused volunteers. Projects include lawn care, landscaping, building maintenance (painting, repairs, etc.), sorting clothing donations, administrative tasks, diaper drives and baby shower host.

18 years of age or older. Other requirements vary.